In the name of the moon, let’s advertise!


Earlier today, Tokyo-based pharmaceutical company Eisai announced that they’re launching a branding campaign with Sailor Moon Crystal. The promotion will see the Sailor Guardians promoting Eisai’s “Chocola BB Joma” energy drink, both in TV spots and standard image adverts. Customers who purchase specially-marked packages will be eligible to enter a drawing for several prizes, including an illustration of Sailor Moon autographed by actress Kotono Mitsuishi, a limited-edition compact mirror, cosmetics accessories, and limited-edition QUO cards.

Five short commercials were produced to advertise the campaign, which feature Kotono Mitsuishi narrating as Sailor Moon.

The first spot sees Sailor Moon changing up her iconic catch phrase. Rather than her usual “In the name of the Moon, I’ll punish you!” (“Tsukini kawatte, oshioki yo!”), Sailor Moon proclaims “In the name of the moon, I recommend this!” (“Tsukini kawatte, osusume yo!”).

Several images for the venture were also released, which you can check out below:

This is the latest of several Sailor Moon co-branding campaigns. Other advertising deals saw the Sailor Guardians selling everything from tortilla chips to feminine hygiene products.

The Sailor Moon Crystal anime will return for a third season on April 4. The season will revolve around the “Death Busters” arc of the Sailor Moon manga, bringing Sailor Uranus, Sailor Neptune, and Sailor Saturn into the fold, along with Mistress 9 and the malevolent Death Busters organization.

Sailor Moon Crystal Season 3 Visual 001 - 20160125

Chiaki Kon (Junjo Romantica) is replacing Munehisa Sakai, who directed the first two seasons. Akira Takahashi (Smile PreCure) will take over for Yukie Sakou as character designer on the project, as series writer Yuji Kobayashi returns to take charge of series composition.

The confirmed cast includes:

  • Usagi Tsukino(Sailor Moon): Kotono Mitsuishi
  • Ami Mizuno(Sailor Mercury): Hisako Kanemoto
  • Rei Hino(Sailor Mars): Rina Satou
  • Minako Aino(Sailor Venus): Shizuka Itou
  • Makoto Kino(Sailor Jupiter): Ami Koshimizu
  • Chibiusa (Sailor Chibi Moon): Misato Fukuen
  • Mamoru Chiba(Tuxedo Mask): Kenji Nojima
  • Haruka Tenou (Sailor Uranus): Junko Minagawa
  • Michiru Kaioh (Sailor Neptune): Sayaka Ohara
  • Hotaru Tomoe (Sailor Saturn): Yukiyo Fujii
  • Luna: Ryou Hirohashi
  • Artemis: Youhei Oobayashi
  • Kaolinite: Hikari Yono
  • Professor Tomoe: Takuya Kirimoto
  • Pharaoh 90: Takaya Hashi
  • Mimete: Yuki Nagaku
  • Eudial: Chiaki Takahashi
  • Viluy: Rina Hon’izumi
  • Tellu: Naomi Ōzora
  • Cyprine: Umeka Shouji

Source: PRTimes (Press Release)