So, how long until we get the catch phrase “(Soul) bustin’ makes me feel good”?

Yesterday, Studio Pierrot and Chinese streaming site Youku Tudou announced that they will co-produce a new anime series. At a press conference, the two companies revealed that they will co-produce a TV series that adapts Bai Mao’s Soul Buster comic series.

Soul Buster will be a short-form series, with each installment running for 15 minutes. Twelve episodes are planned, with the first hitting Tokyo MX and BS11 on October 4. MBS will begin airing the show in November. Soul Buster will also air in China, though a specific première date has yet to be announced.

The current première schedule is as follows:

  • Tokyo MX: 10/4/2016 at 18:30 (10/4/2016 at 6:30PM)
  • BS11: 10/4/2016 at 26:00 (10/5/2016 at 2:00AM)
  • MBS: November 2016

News site Anime! Anime! is currently streaming a promo video for the title. The 90-second teaser offers a brief glimpse of the show in motion.

Soul Buster‘s official website also opened its doors yesterday, with a new visual, as well as the first cast and crew members.

Soul Buster Visual 001 - 20170803

The series will star the following (Chinese pronunciations in parentheses):

    Son Shin: Takahiro Mizushima

  • Zhou Yu (Shu Yu): Rui Tanabe
  • Barin Yi: Tetsuya Kakihara
  • Zhang: Tarusuke Shingaki
  • Emperor Xian of the Han: Tomohiro Nishimura
  • Shuijing: Yuko Sanpei
  • Zhou Cang (Shu So): Toshiyuki Toyonaga
  • Wei Yan (Gi En): Kenichirou Matsuda
  • Cao Xing (So Sei): Shun Horie
  • Feng Ya: Ami Koshimizu
  • Bo Anzi: Daisuke Namikawa
  • Cheng Pu (Tei Fu): Takayuki Sugo
  • School Nurse: Mari Hino

Kobun Shizuno (Knights of Sidonia) will serve as series director on the project, with Odahiro Watanabe serving as Director. Tsutomu Miyazawa () will provide character designs for the series, while Masaya Watanabe () takes charge of series composition.

Other staff members include:

  • Art Director: Toru Koga
  • Prop Design: Hiroyuki Taiga
  • Effects Supervisor: Takashi Hashimoto
  • Color Design: Yoshimi Kawakami
  • Director of Photography: Shigeteru Asakawa
  • Editing: Hiromi Sasaki
  • Sound Director: Katsunori Shimizu
  • Music: Akiyuki Tateyama
  • Music Production: MAGES.

Source: Ota-suke