News Reporting

Vertical Adds Gundam Wing: The Glory of Losers, Helvetica Standard Manga

History is much like an endless waltz. The three beats of war, peace, and comedy manga named after fonts continue on forever.

Wait… that’s not right.

Earlier today, Vertical announced that they acquired two new manga titles. The following will join the company’s lineup:

  • Gundam Wing: The Glory of Losers (New Mobile Report Gundam Wing: Endless Waltz: The Glory of the Losers) by Tomofumi Ogasawara
  • Helvetica Standard by Keiichi Arawi

Gundam Wing: The Glory of Losers began publication in the pages of Gundam Ace in September 2010. The ongoing series currently spans twelve volumes, with the most recent hitting retailers on January 2016. The series is an adaptation of the Gundam Wing anime, which adds in references to Endless Waltz, as well as manga series Gundam Wing: Episode Zero and novel series Gundam Wing: Frozen Teardrop.

Helvetica Standard is currently published in Newtype magazine. The series is referenced in Arawi’s other work, Nichijou: My Ordinary Life, where it exists as an in-world comic series. Segments from the series were adapted as part of the Nichijou anime.

Source: Twitter (Vertical_Comics)

About the author

Samantha Ferreira

Samantha Ferreira is Anime Herald’s founder and editor-in-chief. A Rhode Island native, Samantha has been an anime fan since 1992, and an active member of the anime press since 2002, when she began working as a reviewer for Anime Dream. She launched Anime Herald in 2010, and continues to oversee its operations to this day. Outside of journalism, Samantha actively studies the history of the North American anime fandom and industry, with a particular focus on the 2000s anime boom and bust. She’s a huge fan of all things Sakura Wars, and maintains series fansite Combat Revue Review when she has free time available. When not in the Anime Herald Discord, Samantha can typically be found on Bluesky.

Anime Herald

Support Anime Herald

Anime Herald is brought to you through our Patrons and Ko-fi supporters. Consider backing us for as little as $1 a month to help us keep the site ad-free and pay a fair rate to our writers.

Patrons and backers can access several benefits, including Early Article Access, our members-only Discord, and the ability to suggest articles for our team to write on your behalf.

Latest Posts