Much like the march of time, so also comes a new simulcast announcement.

Earlier today, Crunchyroll announced that they will stream Clockwork Planet as part of their Spring 2017 simulcasts. The series kicks off today, at noon Pacific (3:00PM Eastern) for subscribers in the following regions:

  • United States
  • Canada
  • United Kingdom
  • Ireland
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • South Africa
  • Latin America

Clockwork Planet adapts Yuu Kamiya and Tsubaki Himana’s light novel series of the same name. Tsuyoshi Nagasawa (MM!, Nyaruko: Crawling with Love!) is directing the show at Xebec, with Shuichi Shimamura (Honey and Clover, Saber Marionette J) providing character designs. Kenji Sugihara (Shiki, Oreca Battle) is in charge of series composition.

fripside will perform opening theme song clockwork planet, while After the Rain provides closing theme Anticlockwise.

The confirmed voice cast includes:

  • RyuZU: Ai Kakuma
  • Naoto Miura: Yoshino Nanjo
  • Vainney Halter: Kenichirou Matsuda
  • Marie Bell Breguet: Saori Onishi
  • AnchoR: Sayaka Senbongi

Crunchyroll describes the series as:

Earth died a thousand years ago, and a legendary clockmaker known only as “Y” rebuilt it using clockwork. Naoto Miura, a failing high school student, encounters RyuZU, an automaton that “Y” left behind, and the genius clockmaker Marie. When the abilities of these three come together, the gears of fate begin to turn. The cycle of failure and success repeats endlessly as the three of them work to repair the endangered “Clockwork Planet” in this clockpunk fantasy!

The Clockwork Planet light novels kicked off under Kodansha’s Kodansha Ranobe Bunko imprint in April 2013. Shino provided illustrations for each of the books. To date, four volumes were released, with the most recent hitting stores on January 15, 2016.

Kamiya and Himana partnered with Kuro to produce a manga series, which launched in Monthly Shonen Sirius in 2013. To date, six collected volumes have been released, with the most recent hitting stores on January 25.

Kodansha Comics currently holds the rights to the Clockwork Planet manga.

Source: Crunchyroll