The Dark Flame Master never died. He just went away for about four years.

Earlier today, Kyoto Animation revealed that they’re working on a new Love, Chunibyo & Other Delusions anime movie. The project, titled Love, Chunibyo & Other Delusions – Take on Me, will be a continuation of the franchise, set after the events of Love, Chunibyo & Other Delusions -Heart Throb-.

Love, Chunibyo & Other Delusions – Take on Me will hit Japanese theaters on January 6, 2018. The first staff and cast were unveiled for the feature, as well as a promotional video and key visual.

Promo Video

The 43-second trailer features a narrator who confirms the feature’s production and title. As he speaks, the major female cast members descend (fall, rather) from the sky as a plane flies in the background.

Key Visual

The key visual is taken from the final frame of the teaser trailer. The image is a wide shot of Rikka Takanashi, Sanae Dekomori, Shinka Nibutani, and Kumin Tsuyuri above the clouds. Takanashi is holding an umbrella, and an airplane can be seen in the distance.


Tatsuya Ishihara (Sound! Euphonium, The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya) is returning to the director’s chair for the project at Kyoto Animation, with Kazumi Ikeda (Clannad After Story, Myriad Colors Phantom World) reprising her role as character designer. Jukki Hanada (Love Live! School Idol Project, No Game, No Life) will write the feature’s screenplay.

ZAQ will handle the film’s theme song, while Nijine scores the soundtrack.

Other confirmed crew members include:

  • Art Director: Mutsuo Shinohara
  • Color Design: Akiyo Takeda
  • Settings: Hiroyuki Takahashi
  • Director of Photography: Akihiro Ura
  • 3D Director: Rin Yamamoto
  • Sound Director: Yota Tsuruoka
  • Music: Nijine (Akito Masuda)
  • Original Work: Torako (published by Kyoto Animation under their KA Esuma Bunko imprint)
  • Production: Chunibyo Production Committee
  • Distribution: Shochiku


Five cast members are confirmed to be returning to reprise their roles:

  • YĆ«ta Togashi: Jun Fukuyama
  • Rikka Takanashi: Maaya Uchida
  • Shinka Nibutani: Chinatsu Akatsuki
  • Kumin Tsuyuri: Azumi Asakura
  • Sanae Dekomori: Sumire Uesaka

Source: MoCa News

And because I haven’t completely beaten this dead horse enough, we now return you to Dekomori.