You read that right, folks. The Seven Deadly Sins will return in January!

Earlier today, fans of The Seven Deadly Sins gathered in Tokyo for the “Nanatsu no Taizai FES” fan event. At the event the Seven Deadly Sins anime staff revealed that a new season of the show is in the works.

Even better, the new season of The Seven Deadly Sins will air in January. The team showed off two new trailers and a visual, and announced the show’s major cast and crew.


The first promo is a general teaser, which gives a brief overview of the reveal and confirms a January 2018 premiere.

The second trailer is a “New Character” video which, as the name implies, shows off several new characters that will appear in the season.

Key Visual

The new visual shows Meliodas staring down Zeldris against a dusky skyscape. Silhouettes of secondary cast members appear between them.


Takeshi Furuta (The Comic Artist and His Assistants, Utano☆Princesama Legend Star) will direct the project at A-1 Pictures with Tomoya Tanaka working as assistant director. The team of Kento Toya (Nanbaka) and Keigo Sasaki (Blue Exorcist, The Seven Deadly Sins) will provide character designs, while Takao Yoshioka (High School DxD, Watamote) takes charge of series composition.

Other confirmed crew members include:

  • Prop Design: Haruo Miyagawa
  • Color Design: Takahiro Mogi
  • Color Design: Nanako Okazaki
  • Art Director: Hiromichi Itō
  • Art Setting: Iho Narita
  • Director of Photography: Shunya Kimura
  • CG Director: Suguru Karube
  • Editing: Masahiro Goto
  • Music: Hiroyuki Sawano
  • Music: Takafumi Wada
  • Sound Director: Kazuhiro Wakabayashi


Over a dozen new cast members were unveiled, including:

  • Escanor: Tomokazu Sugita
  • Matrona: Rina Satou
  • Zeldris: Yuuki Kaji
  • Estarossa: Hiroki Touchi
  • Galand: Hiroshi Iwasaki
  • Melascula: M.A.O
  • Drole: Daisuke Ono
  • Gloxinia: Yūsuke Kobayashi
  • Monspeet: Kenjiro Tsuda
  • Derieri: Ayahi Takagaki
  • Grayroad: Koji Yusa
  • Fraudrin: Katsuyuki Konishi

The returning cast members for the new season include:

  • Meliodas: Yuuki Kaji
  • Elizabeth: Sora Amamiya
  • Hawk: Misaki Kuno
  • Diane: Aoi Yūki
  • Ban: Tatsuhisa Suzuki
  • King: Jun Fukuyama
  • Gowther: Yuuhei Takagi
  • Merlin: Maaya Sakamoto
  • Gilthunder: Mamoru Miyano
  • Hauser: Ryohei Kimura
  • Griamor: Takahiro Sakurai

The first season of The Seven Deadly Sins debuted in Japan in the fall 2014 broadcast season. Tensai Okamura (Blue Exorcist, Darker than Black) directed the project at A-1 Pictures. Keigo Sasaki (Night Raid 1931, Blue Exorcist) provided character designs, while Shôtarô Suga was in charge of series composition. Netflix currently streams the show as a Netflix Original. Funimation released the series on home video.

A four-episode special, titled The Seven Deadly Sins -Signs of Holy War-, aired in August 2016.

Source: MoCa News