News Reporting

Land of the Lustrous Gets 4 New Cast Reveals, Music Video For Series Theme Song

So, where’s the arc where Rose Quartz joins the rebellion on the Gem Homeworld? (Can’t stop, won’t stop making Steven Universe jokes)

Earlier today, the official Land of the Lustrous (Houseki no Kuni) anime website updated with a new music video, as well as four cast reveals. We break the the details down below:

Music Video

The video, which features opening theme song Kyōmen no Nami (The Waves on the Mirror’s Surface) by Yurika, set against footage from the series proper.

Cast Reveals

Four new cast members were officially unveiled for the series:

  • Sphene: Hitomi Nabatame
  • Peridot: Houko Kuwashima
  • Watermelon Tourmaline: Sayaka Harada
  • Hemimorphite: Reina Ueda

Land of the Lustrous will première in the following time slots

  • AT-X: 10/7/2017 at 21:30 (10/7/2017 at 9:30PM)
  • Tokyo MX: 10/7/2017 at 22:00 (10/7/2017 at 10:00PM)
  • BS11: 10/7/2017 at 23:00 (10/7/2017 at 11:00PM)
  • MBS: 10/7/2017 at 26:38 (10/8/2017 at 2:38AM)

AT-X will hot re-broadcasts on Sundays at 21:30 (9:30PM), Tuesdays at 13:30 (1:30PM), and Fridays at 5:30 (5:30AM).

The series is based on Haruko Ichikawa’s manga of the same name. Takahiko Kyogoku (Love Live! School Idol Project, Pretty Rhythm franchise) was tapped to direct the project at Orange, with Asako Nishida (Love Live! franchise, Haruchika – Haruta & Chika) filling the role of character designer. Toshiya Ono (Gatchaman Crowds, Blue Exorcist: Kyoto Saga) is in charge of series composition.

The confirmed voice cast for the project includes:

  • Phosphophyllite: Tomoyo Kurosawa
  • Cinnabar: Mikako Komatsu
  • Bort: Ayane Sakura
  • Diamond: Ai Kayano
  • Rutile: Yumi Uchiyama
  • Goshenite: Saori Hayama
  • Morganite: Mutsumi Tamura
  • Jade: Ayahi Takagi
  • Benitoite: Ari Ozawa
  • Zircon: Himika Akaneya
  • Neptunite: Atsumi Tanezaki
  • Euclase: Mamiko Noto
  • Yellow Diamond: Junko Minagawa
  • Alexandrite: Rie Kugimiya
  • Maaya Uchida as Red Beryl
  • Amethyst 33: Kanae Itō
  • Amethyst 84: Kanae Itō
  • Obsidian: Ryō Hirohashi
  • Kongou: Jôji Nakata

The Land of the Lustrous manga began publication in the pages of Kodansha’s Afternoon magazine in December 2012. The ongoing series currently has six collected volumes, with the seventh due to hit stores on May 23.

The series is set in a distant future, where a race of jewels take the form of people. These new beings, called Gems (Houseki) spend their days fighting against enemies from the moon, known quite bluntly as “Moon People” (Tsukijin), who want their crystal gem bodies for some unspecified reason.

Among the Gems is Phosphophyllite (Phos, for short). They’re weak by nature, due to a generally low hardness, and considered to be generally useless by their peers. One day, Phos received an assignment to create something only they can make: an encyclopedia. It’s this task which spurs a journey of self-improvement.

A pair of promo videos were released to promote the project, which you can check out below:

Source: Comic Natalie

About the author

Samantha Ferreira

Samantha Ferreira is Anime Herald’s founder and editor-in-chief. A Rhode Island native, Samantha has been an anime fan since 1992, and an active member of the anime press since 2002, when she began working as a reviewer for Anime Dream. She launched Anime Herald in 2010, and continues to oversee its operations to this day. Outside of journalism, Samantha actively studies the history of the North American anime fandom and industry, with a particular focus on the 2000s anime boom and bust. She’s a huge fan of all things Sakura Wars, and maintains series fansite Combat Revue Review when she has free time available. When not in the Anime Herald Discord, Samantha can typically be found on Bluesky.

Anime Herald

Support Anime Herald

Anime Herald is brought to you through our Patrons and Ko-fi supporters. Consider backing us for as little as $1 a month to help us keep the site ad-free and pay a fair rate to our writers.

Patrons and backers can access several benefits, including Early Article Access, our members-only Discord, and the ability to suggest articles for our team to write on your behalf.

Latest Posts


Zom 100 Is the Most Important Anime of This Generation

While he is uncertain of what that future will look like, he is certain—as are his friends—that he will not return to the normal that exploited him mentally, physically, and financially for the benefit of employers who care for one thing—themselves.

By Caitlin Sinclair Chappell