The legendary giant is ready to rise from his slumber, to appear before a new generation.

Earlier today, HIDIVE announced that Space Runaway Ideon (Densetsu Kyojin Ideon lit. Legendary Giant Ideon) will stream as an exclusive on their platform. The first episodes will launch on November 9, with new installments slated to hit on Thursdays at 18:00UTC (1:00PM Eastern, 10:00AM Pacific).

Space Runaway Ideon is a 1980 series from Gundam creator Yoshiyuki Tomino and Hajime Yatate (the pen-name for the collective Sunrise staff). Tomino (Mobile Suit Gundam, Garzey’s Wing) directed the project at Sunrise and Biboo, with Tomonori Kogawa (Tekkaman Blade, Space Battleship Yamato Resurrection) providing character designs.

HIDIVE describes Ideon as:

In the year 2300, mankind has begun colonizing planets around the Andromeda Galaxy. While doing so, they come to discover the mysterious remains of the Ideon, a godlike mecha. During the restoration process, the Ideon is unable to be activated until a humanoid alien race comes to the planet. When Cosmo Yuki climbs aboard, the Ideon activates suddenly which fends off the attack. Will Yuki be able to save the universe or will it meet its doom?

2014 series Shirobako made an homage to Space Runaway Ideon in episode 6 of the show’s first season. The episode, which centered partly on a feud between key animator Ryosuke Endo and 3D director Yuichiro Shimoyanagi, includes a visit to an Idepon exhibition. The scene includes a number of lovingly-drawn props, key frame recreations, and a background theme that sounds close to the Ideon theme song.

Source: HIDIVE