Ramen’s serious business, especially if you’re moonlighting in a dangerous profession.

Earlier today, the official Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens anime website updated with a teaser trailer and key visual. We break the details down below:

Promo Video

The 90-second trailer features a look at the show in action. Opening theme song Stray by Kishida Kyōdan & The Akeboshi Rockets serves as a background track.


Key Visual

The visual features the main cast members relaxing along the waterfront, as Tokyo’s skyline is visible in the background.

Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens will hit Japanese TV on January 12. Tokyo MX, AT-X, and BS-11 will all carry the show.

The series is based on Chiaki Kisaki and Hako Ichiiro’s light novel of the same name. Kenji Yasuda (Macross Delta, Shugo Chara!) will direct the series at Satelight, with Hidenori Inoue providing character designs. Shogo Yasukawa (Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma, Terraformars) is in charge of series composition.

Kotaro Nakagawa (Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion, Planetes) will score the show’s soundtrack. Kishida Kyōdan & The Akeboshi Rockets will perform opening theme song Stray, while jazz quintet TRI4TH tackles ending theme Dirty Bullet.

The confirmed voice cast includes:

  • Zenji Banba: Daisuke Ono
  • Lin Xianming: Yuuki Kaji
  • Saitoh: Yūsuke Kobayashi
  • Shunsuke Saruwatari: Yūichi Nakamura
  • Jirō: Daisuke Namikawa
  • Enokida: Kensho Ono
  • Misaki: Aoi Yūki
  • José Martínez: Tomoaki Maeno
  • Yamato: Yoshitsugu Matsuoka
  • Saeki: Daisuke Hirakawa
  • Shigematsu: Kenji Hamada
  • Genzō Gohda: Kousei Hirota
  • Kyoya Nitta: Masaya Matsukaze

TRI4TH, a five-member male jazz band that formed in 2006, are performing the ending theme song “Dirty Bullet.”

Chiaki Kisaki and illustrator Hako Ichiiro’s Hakata Tonkotsu Ramens light novels made their début under Kadokawa Media Works Bunko imprint in February 2014. The ongoing series saw its seventh volume hit retailers on July 25. The title was awarded the top prize at the 20th Dengeki Novel Awards.

A manga adaptation by Kisara Akino launched in the pages of G Fantasy in July 26. The title ran through May 18, and spans two compiled volumes.

Source: Ota-suke