Get ready to venture into the deep blue seas for one last hurrah.

Earlier today, the official Full Metal Panic! Director’s Cut film trilogy’s official website updated with a new teaser trailer. The 90-second promo features theme song Kimi wa Tomodachi Ichiban no Koi ~way to love you~ (You Are a Friend First Love: Way to Love You) by Tamaru Yamada as a background track.

Full Metal Panic! Director’s Cut: Into the Blue hits theaters on January 20. Customers who pre-order their tickets will receive a mini-poster, while supplies last. The poster features a shot of Tessa and Richard Mardukas, which was drawn by light novel illustrator Shikidouji.

The three Full Metal Panic! Director’s Cut films retell the events of the original anime series.

The original Full Metal Panic! anime is based on Shoji Gatoh (writer) and Shikidouji’s (illustrator) light novel series of the same name. The 2002 series was directed by Koichi Chigira (Last Exile, Tokyo Babylon) at Gonzo and Digimation, with Osamu Horiuchi (Ga-Rei-Zero, New Cutey Honey) providing character designs. The team of Fumihiko Shimo, Koichi Chigira, and Masashi Sogo wrote the scripts.

Funimation currently holds the rights to Full Metal Panic!, along with sequel series Fumoffu! and The Second Raid. They describe the show as:

Kaname’s a popular girl at her high school, but it’s her popularity off campus that’s the problem. Unbeknownst to Kaname, terrorists are plotting her abduction, believing she possesses the abilities of the “Whispered.” That’s where Sousuke enters the picture. He’s a soldier from Mithril, a secret counter-terrorist unit—and he’s going undercover at Kaname’s school to try and keep her safe.

Source: Ota-suke