Rumiko Takahashi - Headshot So, ah… fourth time’s a charm?

On Monday, Comic-Con International revealed this year’s Eisner Awards judges’ nominations for the Will Eisner Comic Awards Hall of Fame. Sixteen nominees were chosen this year, including prominent manga author Rumiko Takahashi. The full list is as follows:

  • Charles Addams
  • Jim Aparo
  • Gus Arriola
  • Karen Berger
  • Howard Cruse
  • Carlos Ezquerra
  • Dave Gibbons
  • Paul Levitz
  • Tarpé Mills
  • Francoise Mouly
  • Thomas Nast
  • Lily Renée Peter Phillips
  • Posy Simmonds
  • Rumiko Takahashi
  • John Wagner
  • S. Clay Wilson
Ranma - Rumiko Takahashi

Ranma 1/2, © Shogakukan

This is Takahashi’s fourth nomination. She previously was considered for the honor in 2017, 2016, and 2014. Four of the nominees will be inducted this year. The vote is being handled online, and is open to individuals from the following professions through March 16:

  • Creative Professionals in Comics (and Related Industries)
  • Publishers
  • Editors
  • Retailers
  • Graphic Novels Librarians
  • Comics Historians
  • Comics Educators

In the world of anime and manga, Rumiko Takahashi is an icon. Takahashi began her career in 1978 with one-shot Katte na Yatsura, which won the Shogakkan New Comics Award. Later that year, she would launch Urusei Yatsura in Weekly Shonen Sunday. She went on to produce numerous beloved works, including Maison Ikkoku, Ranma ½, and InuYasha, many of which inspired anime and live-action adaptations.

Urusei Yatsura - Lum stands in casual clothing

Urusei Yatsura, © Shogakukan

Takahashi stands as the most successful female comics artist, with over 200 million books sold to date.

In the world of anime and manga, Rumiko Takahashi is a household name. Her work has been enjoyed by seemingly everybody, whether it’s an old timer who grew up with works like Urusei Yatsura and Maison Ikkoku, or a newer fan who enjoyed Kagome’s journeys in Inuyasha, or, heck, just people who enjoyed Ranma 1/2.

The Eisner Awards, describe Takahashi’s career as follows:

Popular manga creator Rumiko Takahashi is said to be the bestselling female comics artist in history, with hundreds of millions of her books sold around the world. Takahashi’s first published work was the one-shot Katte na Yatsura in 1978. Later that year her first major work began being serialized, Urusei Yatsura. She went on to create such classic works as Maison Ikkoku, Ranma ½, InuYasha, One Pound Gospel, Mermaid Saga, and Rumic Theater. Several of her works have been animated.

Previous inductees to the Will Eisner Hall of Fame include Osamu Tezuka (2002), Katsuhiro Otomo (2012), Stan Lee, Will Eisner, and Jack Kirby.

Source: Comics Beat