News Reporting

Crunchyroll Opens 2018 Anime Awards Ticket Sales, Reveals Guest List

It will be an evening of glitz, glamour, and anime, highlighted by a star-studded lineup.

Earlier today, Crunchyroll announced that they opened ticket sales for this year’s Anime Awards ceremony. Tickets are available through Showclix, and carry a $35 price tag.

Doors will open at 5:30PM Pacific (8:30PM Eastern), while the show is slated to begin at 7:00PM Pacific (10:00PM Eastern). Amenities for early attendees include:

  • Walk the orange carpet and experience the anime walk of fame
  • Take pictures in front of our official photo-op stations and backdrops
  • Cash bar with Anime Awards-themed drink menu
  • Crunchyroll pop-up shop with exclusive Anime Awards merchandise
  • Rooftop party with DJs and other surprises

This year’s Anime Awards will be hosted by Anthony Carboni and Erika Ishii. Alice Underground will perform as a musical guest, while Jenni “MostFlogged” Hashimoto will be present as a cosplay artist.

Other special guests include:

Special Appearances and Presenters

  • Mike Daniels, Green Bay Packers defensive end
  • Caitlin Glass, Voice Actor (Skip Beat!, Cardcaptor Sakura: Clear Card)
  • Stephanie Sheh, Voice Actor (Sailor Moon, Kill la Kill)
  • Todd Haberkorn, Voice Actor (Sailor Moon, Fairy Tail)


  • Freddie Wong
  • ProZD
  • Gigguk
  • Reina Scully
  • Mother’s Basement
  • Lily Pichu
  • Miles Luna
  • Glass Reflection
  • Super Eyepatch Wolf
  • RDC World 1
  • Victoria Holden
  • Riley Rose Critchlow

This year’s show will be sponsored by Bandai Namco.

The Crunchyroll Anime Awards show will be held at Hollywood’s Montalban Theatre on the evening of February 24. Twitch will stream the event exclusively on their digital platform.

The third and final round of fan voting is currently open. Fans are able to vote for six categories, including “Anime of the Year.”

This year’s Crunchyroll Anime Awards will feature seventeen categories, including “Anime of the Year,” “Best Slice of Life,” and “Best CGI.” Nominees were chosen by a panel of judges from various publications, which include Anime News Network’s Zac Bertschy, IGN’s Miranda Sanchez, and Sumikai’s Michael Ziegler. Much like last year’s awards, honors will be given for fan votes, as well as titles selected by a panel of judges.

The Anime Awards website is currently in its second round of open voting. This week’s categories include “Best Drama”, “Best Action”, “Best Comedy”, “Best Slice-of-Life”, and “Best Continuing Series”.

Source: Crunchyroll (Email Communication)

About the author

Samantha Ferreira

Samantha Ferreira is Anime Herald’s founder and editor-in-chief. A Rhode Island native, Samantha has been an anime fan since 1992, and an active member of the anime press since 2002, when she began working as a reviewer for Anime Dream. She launched Anime Herald in 2010, and continues to oversee its operations to this day. Outside of journalism, Samantha actively studies the history of the North American anime fandom and industry, with a particular focus on the 2000s anime boom and bust. She’s a huge fan of all things Sakura Wars, and maintains series fansite Combat Revue Review when she has free time available. When not in the Anime Herald Discord, Samantha can typically be found on Bluesky.

Anime Herald

Support Anime Herald

Anime Herald is brought to you through our Patrons and Ko-fi supporters. Consider backing us for as little as $1 a month to help us keep the site ad-free and pay a fair rate to our writers.

Patrons and backers can access several benefits, including Early Article Access, our members-only Discord, and the ability to suggest articles for our team to write on your behalf.

Latest Posts