…Why am I having flashbacks to Virgin Fleet?

Earlier today, the official Girly Air Force anime website updated with a new key visual and trailer, along with several new cast members and theme song details.

We break the details down below.


The 42-second trailer cuts through a brief overview, which is highlighted by a piano melody. The scene ends with a jet, powered by

Key Visual

The image features Kei Narutani in military uniform, standing next to a glowing jet on an airfield. Gripen is seated on the plane’s wing.

Girly Air Force Anime Key Visual


The confirmed voice cast includes:

  • Song Min Hoa: Lynn
  • Phantom: Shiori Izawa

Visuals for the characters were also revealed, which you can check out below.

Theme Songs

Run Girls, Run! will perform the show’s opening theme song.

Girly Air Force will air in January 2019.

Katsumi Ono (Senki Zesshō Symphogear, Yu-Gi-Oh! Arc-V) was tapped to direct Girly Air Force at Satelight, with Tōru Imanishi (Full Metal Panic! Invisible Victory, WorldEnd) providing character designs. Shingo Nagai is in charge of series composition.

Other confirmed crew members include:

  • Original Creator: Kōji Natsumi (Dengeki Bunko)
  • Original Character Design: Asagi Tōsaka
  • Chief Animation Director: Tōru Imanishi
  • Mechanical Design: Hiroyuki Taiga
  • Combat Supervision: Hiroyuki Taiga
  • Music: I’ve Sound
  • Animation Production: Satelight

The confirmed voice cast includes:

  • Kei Narutani: Ryota Ohsaka
  • Gripen: Yūka Morishima
  • Eagle: Hitomi Ohwada

Kōji Natsumi and illustrator Asagi Tōsaka’s Girly Air Force light novels launched in September 2014, under ASCII Media Works’ Dengeki Bunko imprint. The series currently spans nine volumes, with the latest hitting stores on June 9.

A manga adaptation by Takahiro Seguchi is set to kick off in the pages of Kadokawa’s Monthly Shōnen Ace magazine on October 26.

Sources: Animate Times, Comic Natalie, Ota-suke