W'z Anime VisualEarlier today, Sentai Filmworks announced that they acquired the distribution rights to W’z. The publisher licensed the show in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Latin America, the Netherlands, Scandinavia, Spain, and Portugal.

Sentai will stream the series on select outlets as a simulcast, followed by a home video release.

W’z will hit Japanese TV on January 5.

The project is a co-production between GoHands and FrontierWorks, with GoHands listed as the original creators.

GOON TRAX will produce the title’s music, with DJ Rena handling video and musical production cooperation. W’z will also feature tracks from 27 artists:

  • A June & J Beat X OCTOBER
  • acro jazz laboratories
  • Afro Soma
  • Asuka Mochizuki
  • Avens
  • CM Smooth
  • DJ Chika a.K.a. INHERIT
  • DJ Juice
  • DJ Ryow a.K.a. Smooth Current
  • Hiroki Mizukami
  • Incise
  • Jay Lee
  • Kenichiro Nishihara
  • Kondor
  • Leehahn
  • LEMS
  • Marcus D
  • MIC B A.K.A. 73 PIKE SET
  • Nomak
  • Robert de Boron
  • Ryosuke Kojima
  • re:plus
  • Sam Ock
  • SoulChef
  • Still Caravan
  • 216Project

The confirmed voice cast includes:

  • Yukiya: Katsumi Fukuhara
  • Midori: Toshiki Masuda
  • Haruka: Akane Fujita
  • Hana: Atsumi Tanezaki
  • Fumiyuki: Daisuke Namikawa
  • Senri: Inori Minase
  • Reijirō: Jun Fukuyama
  • Tamari: Minami Takahashi
  • Seba: Shunsuke Takeuchi
  • Gai: Takuya Eguchi
  • Yukine: Yōko Hikasa
  • Masataka: Yoshinosuke Yamagami

Sentai Filmworks describes W’z as:

Inspired by house music from a young age, Yukiya spends his free time as a DJ for a crowd of one and uploads his videos online. Like any young teenager, he yearns for something greater than his current life. He wants recognition and importance, but breaking out of his comfort zone means he runs the risk of getting hurt, so the cycle continues. That is, until the day he crosses the line of no return and stumbles across a mysterious live broadcast that will change his world forever.

Source: Sentai Filmworks (Press Release)