Get ready, folks, because six new players are hitting the pitch.

Earlier today, the official Captain Tsubasa anime reboot’s website updated with six new cast members. The series will add the following:

  • Takeshi Sawada: Megumi Han
  • Ken Wakashimazu: Yuichiro Umehara
  • Masao Tachibana: Ayako Takeuchi
  • Kazuo Tachibana: Yurina Watanabe
  • Jun Misugi: Sōma Saitō
  • Hikaru Matsuyama: Wataru Hatano

Visuals for all six characters were also revealed, which you can check out below.

The series will air on the following networks:

  • TV Tokyo: 4/2/2018 at 25:35 (4/3/2018 at 1:35AM)
  • BS Japan: 4/9/2018 at 24:30 (4/10/2018 at 12:30AM)

Toshiyuki Kato (Full Moon o Sagashite, Level E) is directing the project at David Production, with Hajime Watanabe (Kodocha, Animation Runner Kuromi) providing character designs. Atsuhiro Tomioka (Pokémon XY, Trinity Blood) is in charge of series composition for the show.

Johnny West’s Start Dash will be the opening theme song for the show.

Other confirmed crew members include:

  • Music: Hayato Matsuo
  • Sound Director: Yoshikazu Iwanami
  • Animation Director: Hajime Watanabe

The confirmed voice cast includes:

  • Tsubasa Oozora: Yuko Sanpei
  • Genzou Wakabayashi: Kenichi Suzumura
  • Tarō Misaki: Ayaka Fukuhara
  • Ryo Ishizaki: Mutsumi Tamura
  • Kojirou Hyuga: Takuya Sato (Zeppeli in JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure)
  • Roberto Hongo: Katsuyuki Konishi

Viz Media currently holds the rights to the Captain Tsubasa reboot.

Yōichi Takahashi’s Captain Tsubasa manga kicked off in the pages of Shueisha’s Weekly Shonen Jump magazine in April 1981. The initial series ran through 1988, spanning 37 collected volumes. The title went on to spawn:

  • Five sequel manga series by Takahashi
  • Four anime films
  • Two OVA sequel
  • A 128-episode anime TV series that ran from 1983 – 1986
  • A 47-episode anime TV series that ran from 1994 – 1995
  • A 52-episode anime TV series that ran from 2001 – 2002
  • Numerous video game adaptations

Source: Comic Natalie