The crackdown on illegal content continues.

Several outlets are reporting that manga piracy site Mangamura is inaccessible. According to reports, the site became unreachable at 3:32PM JST (2:32AM Eastern, 4/16/2018 at 11:32PM Pacific) on April 17.

Japanese newspaper The Asahi Shimbun reached out to a source at an internet service provider. According to the source, the shutdown was brought about by the administrators, and that both the main server and the external image server (which hosted scans and other images) were taken offline.

At the time of shutdown, Mangamura was attracting 100 million users per month. The site was named by the Japanese government as one of three sites that should be blocked by internet providers for their heavy involvement in distributing pirated materials. The other two sites named were AniTube! and MioMio.

The naming came about on April 13, when the government put out the formal request to block illegal distributors. Though the request is informal as of press time, the Diet plans to introduce a bill in 2019, which will expand on a site-blocking law aimed at child pornography distributors.

Source: OtakomuAsahi Shimbun, Mainichi Shimbun